Archinect
anchor

Is it time to switch careers?

mohamedahmed

I am writing this thread seeking the advice of the board members.
I am 29 years old Intern architect, I graduated class 1st all my study years, then worked as a TA for sometime, then for the last 5 years as an intern architect.

I got my Education outside the US and Canada, but was able to get my education accepted and have been working for two years in Canada as an Intern. 

My problem lies in the extremely low salaries that I see in the profession, and it seems to be the case every place I do a job interview in. I get paid 23 an hour and my hour is charged to clients at 85 rate. I totally understand that there are office expenses, insurance, software, ..etc.

But the years on education and the amount of time I spend working in multimillion dollar projects, whether in studies, design, and detailing,  are not well compensated compared to other jobs that require less effort, skills, and knowledge.

In addition to that, I am struggling to get specific internship hours that employers not interested in letting me do, like site visits that is totally dominated by senior architects.
In 2 years of work I got only 5 hours site visits and I still have about 115 hours remaining. Whatever I do they just do not allow me to get the hours.
Other offices are no difference they just want my design and construction documentation skills and that is it.

Now I am thinking of taking a year or two off work and totally dedicate my time and energy to self study programming, as I found it a rewarding career for smart and hard working individuals that I am sure that most architecture graduates are.

Do you think that it is a wise idea to take this step?  

Jan 30, 21 8:29 pm
Non Sequitur