Archinect
anchor

To be or not to be..an architect?!

Kiro

Hi all archinectians!

So as this lock-down begins to grow on us...random thoughts are a given. A little about me first to set the background..promise to keep it as short as possible!

My name is Kiro. An architect by education but a Yoga teacher by profession. Became an architect because my father wanted me to (pls don't judge..everyone has their own struggle!)

But in the past 2 years I have increasingly felt drawn to buildings,materials,landscapes...design. I kept fighting it off but this lock-down trapped me in the corner of my mind and I have to confront this now :-)

I passed out in 2011 and haven't done anything 'architect'y since and I regret that from the bottom of my heart! 

So here are my two questions to you all-

1. I don't want to die thinking that I did not give myself a second chance at architecture. If I have to re-learn everything which I did not in college,where do I start from?? There's just too much out there(in terms of reading,softwares..the works) and honestly,it's intimidating. 

and

2. How do you cope with (if) any bad decisions you have made in the past-

Do you choose to push them under,simply act as if they never happened or do you seek closure?

And most importantly, these are strange times,so stay safe and take good care of yourselves :-)

May 14, 20 3:41 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 7 Comments

Featured Comment
randomised

I can imagine the pressure of teaching yoga can be overwhelming and the boring peace and quiet of a job in an anonymous cubicle in an architecture office seems alluring at times(!)—but have you ever actually worked in an architecture office? 

To answer your questions: