Archinect
anchor

Is NCARB pushing away young Architects from obtaining License?

muhammadtayyab,assoc.aia

I just need some advice from a senior or licensed Architects. I just gotten my four years of degree in Architecture and now i have to obtain Masters in architecture to be accredited from NCARB in order to sit and take an exam. It means I have to pay for my masters which the schools dont usually pay for and as a student I want to get into profession and start making money. Even If i do masters i will still be called "Architectural Intern" until I get my License!! mind you I will be a masters student? and the pay dont even go above 55-60k even after doing my masters?NCARB just started this practice but I know some Architects that became licensed when it wasnt a requirement to do masters in order to obtain license and they are doing perfectly just as well as any Architect! We have engineers that make more in 4 years degree, for example structural engineers will make 60-70k starting salary with four years degree? They dont even need to do masters like some of our school that requires you to do "masters" to be accredited from NCARB to get license? is this some sort of big monopoly from NCARB and schools to be able to make students do masters to able to sit in the exam? if that is the case I think that is turning students away from Architecture and that will hurt NCARB in long term. 

Feb 11, 20 3:04 pm

LOL, these NCARB rules have been in place for quite some time as far as accredited degree requirements. If anything post-recession NCARB has lax the rules by reducing the IDP hours and allowing testing before hour completion. If you don't feel like getting a masters you can always test through another state that doesn't require it, like New York; it just means more IDP hours. And you should have learned long ago architecture isn't a high paying career and engineers have higher salaries...water is wet.

Feb 11, 20 3:12 pm  · 
 · 
Gloominati