Archinect
anchor

Difference in pay - arch firms vs design-built companies

przemula

I'm not very experienced yet (2 years in professional office) and trying to figure out how exactly this industry works, so I have a question to fellow architects here.

As my performance review is coming up, I started exploring other options and wanted to send couple of resumes here and there to test waters.

I work in small office in larger midwest city, we do mostly high-end residential projects, or just residential. As I was looking for job offers, I noticed that for positions like mine (unlicensed architectural associate/designer/drafter/you name it) suburban design-built firms are willing to pay more... Is this a thing, or I'm looking at it wrong? My market value according to glassdoor is around 46k$, I'm getting paid 45k$ currently and have a performance review in 2 months, where I'm expecting salary raise, but obviously nothing big, probably another 2-5k. I've seen offers from design-built firms that were ready to pay 50-60k$ for position like mine, while offers in the city has always significantly lower pay. Can someone explain me the difference between pay (and maybe character of work too) in city architecture firm vs suburban design-built company?

Thanks

Nov 5, 19 11:06 am
Archlandia

Look up *Design-Build* on the internet and you'll find more than you need to know.

Nov 5, 19 11:18 am  · 
 · 
athensarch

Don’t trust Glassdoor. The figures on there are outdated and consistently lower than market rate (at least in New England).

What region in Midwest? I don’t have the city by city breakout, but the AIA salary calculator, which is also outdated, suggests you’re slightly underpaid unless your total comp (bonus, profit sharing etc) is generous. 

Nov 5, 19 11:21 am  · 
 · 
przemula

Archlandia - I already tried and now wanted to get some first-hand feedback.