Archinect
anchor

Architecture student approached to design residential homes online. Scam?

judyla

I understand it may be a common practice to have inquires about architecture online but I have gotten a couple offers asking if I would develop floor plans for residental homes?

I'm a student. I know in some juristictions, unlicenced architects can work solo on these types of projects but something just isn't right. Is it some sort of scam of selling these off or using them without compensation cause I wouldn't know better? 

Like, I would like to work on these things, I just don't want to get played.

Oct 30, 19 3:52 pm
kjdt

It's usually a scam.  Be suspicious, particularly if the email or text provides some excuse for why the "client" can't contact you in person or by phone (most common excuses are that the client is in the military, overseas, on an oil rig, working on a ship, or hearing-impaired.)  It's usually a credit card scam in which they try to get you to agree to accept payment in excess of your fees, and then have you transfer the excess to another account (often claiming that the 3rd party is their drafting service, interior designer, or some other consultant or contractor.)  The credit card payment will appear to clear, but days to weeks later it will be reversed or rejected and then you'll be out the amount that you sent to the 3rd party, plus your work - plus sometimes bank fees, and sometimes it even results in the bank contacting the authorities and the victim being suspected of perpetrating the fraud.

If they're for real then they should be ok with having a phone conversation.  If you really want to err on the side of not inadvertently discriminating against an actually hearing impaired person, tell them you only accept payment through a reputable escrow service, in the exact amount of the transaction - and see if they continue the communications past that point.

Oct 30, 19 4:08 pm  · 
 · 
kjdt