Archinect
anchor

Hard Rock Hotel Partial Collapse (New Orleans)

t a z

This is a pretty horrible and still precarious incident:

https://www.enr.com/articles/47745-unstable-cranes-crumbling-building-pose-hazard-at-new-orleans-hotel-collapse-site

Whether contractor error or professional negligence, the armchair engineering debate on the internets rages on:

https://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=459166

Oct 15, 19 1:42 pm
Mr_Wiggin

This will be a pretty interesting study for the forensic engineers out there,  Damn thing looks like the Murrah building with that whole side collapsing like that.  The videos that I've seen don't give much insight either, it just starts to slump and that's it.  I'm no engineer, but the steel structure that you can see in a few pictures looks pretty light...  A structure with the minimum amount of redundancy built in, and a construction mishap, well, I guess I'll leave it to the professionals.

Oct 15, 19 2:54 pm  · 
 · 
MDWed

As a ‘cub’ I was introduced to the concept of a structure “looking light”; that, too, was my first thought upon seeing the initial videos. 

MDWed

Oct 15, 19 3:59 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

So, all the hard rock was above ground, in this case.

Oct 15, 19 2:59 pm  · 
 · 
t a z

!

Oct 18, 19 11:01 am  · 
 · 
Menona

I saw a report where someone said, just before the accident, they had lifted a swimming pool onto the roof.  The pool looked like a large mass of steel (but could have been concrete).  Those steel columns still visible on the top two floors would have been too small to carry that size and type of concentrated localized load. But we'll see.

Oct 19, 19 12:27 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

The pool was still up there after the collapse, it's in the post-collapse drone footage.

Oct 21, 19 1:26 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

It would be interesting to get the followin information:

1) Was there a construction staging plan that was coordinated, reviewed, and "approved" by the Engineer of Record (EOR).