Archinect
anchor

Is it possible that I earn experience and log hours for the license exam (AXP) working part time for architects remotely?

adamk1992

I've been thinking about this question everyday for quite a long time now. I don't seem to be able to find an answer myself so I'm posting it here. 

My story starts when I was a freshman at college. I wanted to find a job that pays better than working at Walmart...I knew AutoCAD so I applied for a drafter position at a steel fabricator. I worked full time throughout college moving from a steel fabricator to another. By the time I graduated with my B.Architecture I was already making a good money as an experienced steel detailer. I graduated 2.5 years ago. Right after college I found a job in New York City for a respected steel company as a drafting manager. 

I'm 27 years old now, realizing that I went too far in the steel industry and trying to find my way back to become a licensed architect and have my own practice one day. I'm feeling that time is passing very quick and I'm older than normal for a junior position now. The main problem for me is not age, it's money. I make a very good money in my current position. If I want to work in an architectural firm as an entery-level designer, I will have to lose more than half of my salary. That's a big sacrifice that I'm not sure if I can make. I may need 10-15 years so I can start making my current salary again.

So is it possible that I log hours for the license exam (AXP) working part time for architects remotely? This way I can get some experience while keeping my day job then starting my own small practice and get small project and learn on my own. Is that something doable in your opinion? I contacted some local small architectural firms offering to work for them remotely for 20 hours a week for free. It's not easy, a lot of them were suspicious, probably thinking that I'm trying to steal their customers or something lol

Oct 3, 19 3:15 pm
archinine