Archinect
anchor

Difference between drafting, rendering, modeling, visualization?

JessieMcBee

For context, I am a technical writer who wishes I had gone to architecture school, so as a hobby, I draw (manually, on graph paper) basic floor plans and elevations of homes I might like to build with my husband someday. I'd love to learn how to translate my 2D designs first into attractive renderings that will help me visualize what the house will look like--similar to what I imagine an architect might present to a client in a proposal. I'd also love to eventually create my own construction documents that a contractor could use to build our home, but that's probably naive and unrealistic without diving head-first into architecture school. 

My question(s):

Where do I start? Should I be searching for courses in drafting? Illustration? Visualization? 3D modeling? Something else entirely? What software should I learn? 

I envy all of you architects out there and would be humbled and delighted if anyone might have a moment to offer some wisdom. 

Thank you!

Sep 11, 19 8:05 pm
Non Sequitur

Learn Sketchup

it's free and dirt-simple.  30min learning curve if you're somewhat already comfortable with 3D orbiting.  Plenty of tutorials and free 3D models to use or modify and you can sculpt the spaces in your imagination and see the end result from all angles.

Sep 11, 19 9:05 pm  · 
 · 
chris-chitect

Sketchup is great, easy but also has a lot of versatility. 

There's a huge jump from a 2d plan to a polished render though. I remember one professor in architecture school hated sketchup since students would just use the paint bucket tool willy nilly to select materials like brick, stone or wood without much thought to what they really meant other than their aesthetic quality.

I'd also suggest building some models by hand. Get some bass or balsam wood and try building yourself a model.