Archinect
anchor

Sharing digital files with interior designer

daldezin

I'm a Certified Interior Designer, licensed by my state's Board of Architecture. I've been contracted by long-time clients to work on a new residence being designed by an architect in another (very distant) state. 

In my first conversation by phone with the architect, I requested digital files of floor plans and interior elevations. The guy's reaction was that he doesn't share his files, but then he softened a bit and seemed to say he would do it. I should note that due to foundation work being near completion he gave me  a week to provide information regarding locations of floor power outlets and a plumbing change which I said I wanted included. All I have at this point is an outdated 8.5x11 PDF of his floor plan.

The week has passed and still no files from the guy. In 35 years of practice and collaboration with architects, I have never been denied access to the necessary drawings. 

I need to have a good relationship with this architect for the next two years or so, and I think he should share the necessary files with a professional consultant who is contracted to collaborate on the project. In no way do I dispute his ownership of the drawings, I just want to do my work. thoughts?

Aug 30, 19 9:17 pm
SpontaneousCombustion