Archinect
anchor

Would you disclose health issues in your resume?

gareth

I graduated two years and worked at a starchitect firm for 1 year. Then I took a gap year due to a health related issue.

I am applying for work again now and I was wondering if I should disclose my health issue in my resume.

Mentioning the issue I had explains the 1 year gap in my resume, however I am concerned that employers might view this as a risk and not consider my application, as they might think that I will not perform well or even leave the job in case I have health issues again.

What would you do in this case?

Aug 26, 19 11:51 am
SneakyPete

Leave it off and talk about it in an interview if asked.

Aug 26, 19 11:57 am  · 
 · 
geezertect

+++++

Aug 26, 19 12:14 pm  · 
 · 
gareth

I thought about leaving it off, but I was worried I would not be selected for an interview due to the gap.

Aug 26, 19 1:04 pm  · 
 · 
joseffischer

In America at least you specifically shouldn't do this.  Putting a health issue in writing puts the company in a precarious position, because if they interview you and decide not to hire you, then you can come back and "blame it" on the health issue you disclosed.  They'd most likely throw your resume in the trash before an interview unless you were somehow amazing on paper and in portfolio.  If that's the case, you might as well not explain the gap at all.  Gaps aren't nearly as conspicuous as one might think.

Aug 26, 19 11:57 am  · 
1  · 
gareth

I was concerned that if I don't address the gap in my cover letter I won't get an interview.

Aug 26, 19 1:04 pm  · 
 · 
atelier nobody

No.

Aug 26, 19 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
Chad Miller

Do not worry about the gap in your work history. 

One year is rather short.  If a firm would throw out your application because of the gap then they probably have a horrible office culture and isn't good place to work 

If you're asked about the gap in an interview then explain it.  

Aug 26, 19 1:34 pm  · 
 · 
natematt