Archinect
anchor

Is architecture not for me?

Soulless

I'm the most inexperienced person to start typing this, but I will anyway. I'm in my first semester of architecture, and I'm starting to hate it. I know it's the start and every degree has it's own complications, but I feel I will get nowhere if I keep pursuing it. I spend hours working(which everyone does) but usually I'm not happy with the end result. It's more confusing than hard. Now I've already taken a gap year, and decided on pursuing architecture against my parent's will. Now I just feel stupid for not listening to them, I do enjoy it to a small degree. But I feel like I'll never be able to make it. Is it suppose to be this hard? Is it not worth it? The only possibility of changing my degree is next year, which would mean I would've wasted 2 years of my life. I don't know if I should somehow keep going, or will it not be worth it in the end if I keep finding it frustrating. Plus, the cost is another thing, other than the enormous fee, the cost of supplies is too much. In other degrees atleast that wont be a problem. I don't find it exciting anymore. 

Nov 4, 18 10:05 am
donutsfordough

Then leave.

Nov 4, 18 11:22 am  · 
 · 
randomised

You haven't lost 2 years, whatever you decide. They are two years that helped you figure out what you want to be doing in life, that's priceless!

Nov 4, 18 2:57 pm  · 
 · 

short answer: yes

you’re welcome. 

Nov 4, 18 4:13 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

I will repeat advice I have given in other threads:

Arrange to spend some time in two or more working architects offices and observe what they do all day.   This will give you an idea of what actual practice is like and if it is a good fit for you.

Architecture school is the USA is absolutely nothing like practice.  The claim that design studios are like working in an office are complete bullshit.

Nov 5, 18 11:03 am  · 
 · 
millieshaw

But if you really hate it and won't leave, you'll waste 3-4 years of your life.