Archinect
anchor

Designing a high rise office building

Laleh

This is the first time I'm ever going to design a high rise building(I'm a student). The problem with the site is that it is very small and has only one access (the site area after removing the setbacks is around 3529sq ft). Please give me tips on designing a high rise building. How can I make it more interactive between different levels. Thanks in advance.

Oct 4, 18 8:46 am
( o Y o )

Don't worry, it's also the last time.

Oct 4, 18 9:19 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Did you know say in your previous posts that you had "staff" under you that were questioning your core designs?

Oct 4, 18 9:48 am  · 
 · 
Rusty!

Is your professor requiring a high rise office building, or is this your initiative? High rise office building is probably the least architectural building type out there. It's an egress puzzle and curtainwall pattern making charette. Maybe you get to have some fun with lobby design.

If you have to do this I'd recommend going completely deconstructionist. Reinvent the whole typology and pretend that leasable space don't matter, and building codes don't exist. You know, something that will never be built. 

Whatever you come up with will still have been done before, probably better, but you get a crack at it as well. 

Oct 4, 18 9:49 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

There was a crazy old-timer architect cook in my undergrad who ran this type of tower studio. I remember one student built in a Ferris-wheel midway up a 60-storey building. That was a fun project to see... also, this was a hand-drawn, hand-built model studio...no computers allowed (early 00s)

Oct 4, 18 10:01 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat

This sounds really fun. If I could do it all over, now that I actually have a clue...!