Archinect
anchor

You Are An Architect.NoYou're Not An Architect.Are.AreNot.Are.AreNot.Are.Are Not.....

Shaw

I became aware of my state's registration law during my school days, when the executive director of the state board for the registration of architects came to my college and lectured about the law, licensure, and the examination. He related an account of an unlicensed individual who did design, and had placed the title of ARCHITECT under his name on the sign, and naturally, the state board cited him and made him remove the sign; this was my first exposure to this issue, and this account helped me to understand the issue very clearly. However, from that point on, whenever people referred to me as an architect, I always winced, and became fearful. I would try to say that I was a student, and of course, later on, I would say I was an intern architect, etc. Many times, I could not address it. I did some community activites/work through the AIA shortly after I began my internship, which got a lot of attention from the media, and - you guessed it - I was known as an 'architect' - in the local news and papers, along with other AIA Associates. This became so troubling for me that I went to the state board and met with the very same executive director - a very gracious and understanding man, who told me to write a letter to the board explaining my situation, how I was seeking to always honor the law, but couldn't help circumstances like these. This I did, and for several years I rested in the peace of mind and the executive director's word which was his bond. Naturally, I was very sad when he passed, but I was hopeful that things would remain the same - which they did for a season of time.