Archinect
anchor

M.Arch I: GSAPP or SCI-Arc???

arch1234

I want to hear the opinions — opinions that are not biased by my own impressions. The only things to keep in mind is that I want to eventually do my own intensive, experimental, social-science-research-based design work — architectural design, but also industrial design and even design for performance wear/footwear (no; I don’t think I’m a starchitect, yes; I am aware of how ambitious and improbable that’s probably going to be...). My background is in heavy social science research, so I have to do an M.Arch I. Was offered good scholarships from both, so it evens out tuition/living cost considerations.

Mar 31, 18 8:00 pm
arch1234

Oh yeah: please no NYC vs LA debate.

Mar 31, 18 8:33 pm  · 
 · 
Koww

both of these schools are known for their social science

Mar 31, 18 10:11 pm  · 
 · 
monn

Please help with this thread! would be highly appreciated!

https://archinect.com/forum/th...

Apr 1, 18 6:31 am  · 
 · 
arch1234

Oh, sweetie, you’re going to have to be more specific! Why am I a pretentious ninny? Why do those specific factors mean that I’d fit in better at SCI-Arc vs GSAPP?

Apr 1, 18 8:11 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
Take the cheapest. Also NYC > LA
Apr 1, 18 8:23 am  · 
 · 
nishizawa

SCI-Arc

Apr 1, 18 4:05 pm  · 
 · 
archinet

GSAPP- might be a better fit for your specific background. They seem to have a stronger interdisciplinary approach and resources- because they are part of a University. Also, who knows you might want to do a phd later in life. GSAPP has a pretty good phd school. 

Apr 2, 18 6:40 am  · 
 · 
randomised

LA or NYC, kind of a no-brainer.

Apr 2, 18 8:10 am  · 
 · 
arch1234

Thanks for the input so far, everybody!

If you could note the reasons for your recommendations, that'd be appreciated!

Apr 2, 18 11:51 am  · 
 · 
randomised

New York, because it's New Amsterdam!

Apr 2, 18 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
arch1234

Anybody else? Every opinion is appreciated.

Apr 2, 18 10:05 pm  · 
 ·