Archinect
anchor

I want to design and build homes...What should I do?

elijahwilliams

Hello,

I am currently an undergrad studying Engineering-Civil Engineering. Although I am in love with Architecture, I want to be able to design and build. One of my Engineering goals is to start my own business designing and building homes. I have taken some business courses but I would like to gain more knowledge in Architecture and Engineering.  I would like to ask a few questions to help me get on my way.

Can Civil Engineers design homes?

Are there any Civil Engineers that designs homes?

Should I minor in Architecture? or Dual-Major?

What else should I know about Architecture?

Thanks!

Elijah

Mar 19, 17 12:32 am
Non Sequitur
Anyone can design anything. It's that pesky permit and construction phases that ruin the layman' day. Read up on your local's building rules. Maybe no arch is required.
Mar 19, 17 12:43 am  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)

anyone can design anything, but then again anyone can eat anything also, doesnt mean its a good idea, there are a lot of people in prison & mental institutions with "good ideas" and have "designed" good escape plans, need I say more or do u see my point yet?

Mar 23, 17 10:26 am  · 
 · 
magentasky

It really depends on where you are (geographically).  

http://archinect.com/forum/thread/123121488/can-a-civil-engineer-design-a-house

Mar 19, 17 2:52 am  · 
 · 
gruen
Consider teaming with an architect & having a small integrated practice. And do study some architectural design if you can.
Mar 19, 17 6:54 am  · 
 · 
Volunteer

Thompson Custom Homes in Houston was started by a Civil Engineer. He may have architects working for him by now. His firm has won a lot of awards.

Mar 19, 17 7:45 am  · 
 · 
x-jla

Depends on the state.  In most states you will actually be able to do more than an architect since an architect is not required for residential but an engineer sometimes is...

Mar 19, 17 1:41 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla