Archinect
anchor

Can a civil engineer design a house?

Spathene

Hi,

I'm a current civil engineering student and currently considering the following path: graduate, work as a civil engineering (in the construction and/or project management side of the job) while aggressively investing in real estate (rental properties) in order to become, within 10 years, financially independent. Later, I want to quit my day-to-day civil engineering job and jump into real estate development. 

My question is: could I design houses by myself? What would be the constraints (eg. legal)? Are there examples of civil engineers that are designing houses (i.e. with no architect license)?

Considering the following:
- I am VERY passionate about architecture.
- I read tons of magazines and books about architecture as well as viewing online university lectures, travelling a lot, working with architects, etc.
- I learn, by my own, how to use architecture software such as Revit and 3ds Max.
- I know the building code for my region (currently Québec, Canada).

Thoughts?

Thank you.

Mar 17, 15 1:17 pm

Depends on the where you practice. If it is exempt from architectural license requirement for preparing the plans in your locality then yes. The important thing is that you know how to design. I suggest working with an architect or building designer for a little bit to understand the architectural issues beyond the engineering sciences. The short answer is yes but you need to understand architecture as an art and science that includes factors beyond the engineering sciences covers. 

I can't speak for Canada so much but I can speak for U.S. and in most states in the U.S. houses are exempt from requiring an architect to design and prepare the plans.

Mar 17, 15 1:28 pm  · 
1  · 
Spathene