Archinect
anchor

M.Arch for liberal arts BAs

agrippa

Hey all,

I am sophomore at swarthmore in pennsylvania.
(I'm a foreign student and english is my second language)
I'll probably major in political science. The courses i took for the last two years are mainly in social science and math. But, I recently got a huge interest in architecture and right now i am seriously considering a master degree in architecture. In ligth of that, for this summer, i'm going to enroll in one of the summer discovery programs, either at harvard or columbia. i'm also considering to pursue minor in engineering, focusing on structural engineering.

What can I do for the next 1.5 years to maximize my chances for grad school admission? And beyond that, what would you suggest me to do? I already looked at grad school websites and I hate to post I-know-nothing-what'd-i-do kind of question, but it's sort of hard to find someone who can give me advice here. So, help me out! :)
Drop a line when you have time. Right now, i think my top choice is princeton.

thanks!

Feb 22, 05 6:30 pm
Ms Beary

The minor in structural engineering is interesting, but is it possible? - check with your school. This will pay off after you enter the workforce and give you a head start in archi school. Will you be both an engineer and architect? Cha-ching - $$. An architect who does your own structural design?
Anyways, to develop towards architecture admissions - draw, discover, critique, travel, take pictures of stuff, develop opinions about your surroundings. Your eyes are part of your brain. Learn to use that dormant part of your brain and eyes. Explore why you want to go into architecture. Meanwhile, read some other posts here.

Feb 22, 05 6:48 pm  · 
 · 
db