Archinect
anchor

any portfolio tips for employment?

Ms. Pudding

I'm currently in 2nd year co-op at Carleton's arch. program (Canada). I'm having trouble getting any interviews with firms and I'm worried that it's an issue with my resume or webportfolio (I have a paper portfolio too, but I haven't gotten to the stage yet where I can bring it in and show it to a potential employer. yes. it's sad.)

Anyway...here it is www.wingseewu.com . Tear it up, trash it, but please give me some constructive critiscism. I really need some help. Personally, I think I might be running into trouble because I'm not being concise enough and trimming down the site to relevant samplse of work. And yes, I also know that it might also be a possibility that I'm not getting interviews because my work just isn't good. Be honest, I need to get things straightened out.

By the way, does anyone have any samples of good web portfolios that they could show me as well?

Feb 22, 05 11:27 am
Museschild

at your level, you obviously have talent, it's not your web portfolio or resume that's key; you need to get something physical into the hands of potential employers (i assume for an internship?). even a few pages of work, probably CAD stuff is best, but that depends on what you want to do. Lots of employers, from what I understand, don't even want to take the time to go to a website; they want to have something in hand to look at for 30 seconds & decide if they want to bring you in. For a 3 month internship, think first about what you can offer them, and then about what you want to get out of it. Write specific cover letters for each firm based on that. don't stress the web portfolio too much. it looks good, though.

if the job interview you seek is for something other than a 3-month internship, let us know.

Feb 22, 05 11:41 am  · 
 · 
joed