Archinect
anchor

Intern duties/ Library maintenance

SullivanJ

Has anyone had any experience maintaining a firm's library as an intern, meeting with vendors etc... What does this entail, what was your approach, and what did you learn from it? I just recently graduated so I don't have a lot of experience with this. Any information would be great.

Feb 7, 05 2:28 pm

I'm an intern here in my firm as well, and I too help with maintaning the library, updating it, meeting with vendors, setting up presentation etc.

I think I learn a lot about the industry, building materials + methods during the process of updating the library. Sometimes, you also learn from the experience of sales representatives on different products etc.

I don't have any prior experience in this department, but I think the challege here is to pick up the phone and call up reps. They are usually very helpful.

Feb 7, 05 2:47 pm  · 
 · 
Ms Beary

i did this. i learned that i didn't know anything about anything after just graduating.

heres what i did.
don't be afraid to throw new catalogs out when you realize what types of things your firm does and doesn't use. you will get bombarded with plenty of stuff that you don't really need to deal with.
don't let any reps waste your time if you are busy and they want to chit chat for 15 minutes.
don't let them get at your catalogs, you bring them the catalog and then they can update it. and never leave them alone with the arch library. they can sabotage their competiter's material.

Feb 7, 05 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
CJarch

just make sure everything is up to date.
you can also use it as an opportunity to learn about materials and products you're interested in, but your firm might not necesarilly use.
order stuff you think is cool, and if your boss likes it, even better for you.

Feb 7, 05 4:02 pm  · 
 · 
instrumentOFaction