Archinect
anchor

AIA

Wilma Buttfit

Donna, I didn't mean to threaten you, I'm sorry, it was just an observation. And I have 8 years of experience working for architecture firms. I've also worked for engineers, subcontractors and manufacturers which I did to round out my experiences in architecture. I was a member of AIAS. The firms I worked at were all AIA members although I was not as an individual. I was the lead designer of a project that won one of the firms an AIA award though and I've been at their banquets and meetings and conventions and con eds many, many times. 

I have been out in the woods all weekend, this thread really blew up while I was out.

Aug 2, 15 6:18 pm  · 
 · 

null pointer, 

Enroll with what money? 

Aug 2, 15 6:19 pm  · 
 · 

And how recently, tintt? You've said yourself you haven't been an AIA member, and we know you haven't worked in a firm in, what, 5 years at least? Really, how much of an authority are you on what architectural culture is like these days? 

And you're not threatening me, you're threatening the ability of this website to provide helpful information for serious questions without completely inundating the questioner with cynical attitude.

Aug 2, 15 6:29 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Yes, 5 years out of traditional practice. And my opinion is as valid as yours. Here is a fact though... the AIA is not the profession. The AIA is a professional club. Donna just did a nice job of helping prove my point that the AIA and its menbers wants people to believe they are one and the same. They are not.

Aug 2, 15 6:38 pm  · 
 · 

Hold on!

Where did Donna actually say that?

Be careful with assumption of implied meaning because that is a slippery slope.

Aug 2, 15 6:47 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Richard, she said I wasn't familiar with the profession because I wasn't an AIA member. 

Aug 2, 15 6:48 pm  · 
 ·