Archinect
anchor

Is my job legit?

archguy22

I am working at a firm in Miami full time on a 1099, the entire firm is employed on 1099's, even the people who have been there for years. ( firm size 10 people including the boss) I graduated from a top ten arch program right when the recession hit and was unable to find a job for a very long time, so I leaped at the first offer went my way. I have no prior experience and have only been working at the firm for 4 months and need advice , I am working full time but I think there are huge ethical issues going on here. I am on a 1099 and only get paid 17 an hour. Is that fair? I don't think I have enough experience on the job to apply elsewhere?? But then again I technically don't work for the firm. What should I do? What pay is reasonable? I live in Miami.

Mar 13, 15 2:17 pm
chigurh

whatever you think you are worth, double it, cause that is how much you will pay in taxes at the end of the year...I would get on a quarterly payment schedule, with the IRS otherwise you are going to be hurting around tax time.

Mar 13, 15 2:24 pm  · 
 · 

It is legal but you are still getting fucked.

30% taxes, no health insurance, no overtime, no sick days, no holidays, no unemployment insurance.

You are going to owe these taxes at the end of the year.

This is what companies are doing now, and not just in architecture.

This is what is called income disparity.

My advice is run to from these weasels as fast as you can.

Mar 13, 15 2:33 pm  · 
 · 

The employer is operating illegally if the people there are required to work given hours in the office space, to work on office equipment, and are being paid for general work not for a specific project.