Archinect
anchor

Phrases that make you Cringe

meversusyou

this bothers me, its not so much as a phrase, its that fucking guy two seats back, unhappy with his work, gives out a very audible sigh every two fucking minutes as if to let everyone else know that his life is miserable.

fuck you

Dec 15, 04 2:43 pm  · 
 · 

similar: "oh, that's your aesthetics." like 'aesthetics' is something i've added because i'm an architect, but it's not essential to their project.

Dec 15, 04 2:46 pm  · 
 · 
c.k.

it's already been said:

shoot me an email
touch base
jazz it up
youknowhatamean
myconceptis
what do you bring to the table

Dec 15, 04 3:03 pm  · 
 · 
mm

When the VP of my office says "this project really needs to be green designed" and has no idea what that means. She just thinks it makes her sound progressive.

I place my vote for "think outside the box" as the use of such a cliche is in such conflict with the intention of the phrase.

Another least favorite is when a developer says "I like your concept but it's not the product I build." I take issue with thinking of buildings, houses, or environments as "products."

Dec 15, 04 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
Jr.

nluken--my boss *constantly* uses the "this [insert element here] really wants to be...." and it drives me crazy. Last time I checked, doors and partition walls weren't sentient beings.

The other thing he constantly says is "Well, we'll just have to love on it a little bit." Damn, not me.

I also hate "I was just noodling and..."

Dec 15, 04 4:10 pm  · 
 · 
Frit

Linoleum - No one actually means linoleum when they say this. They mean some cheap-ass vinyl flooring.

Stucco - You mean EIFS, i.e. Styrofoam.

Cement - You mean concrete. Cement is an ingrediant of concrete.

Plaster - Mud, or finishing compound if you want to be technical. When was the last time any of us actually designed a lathe and plaster wall?

I could forgive a client saying these, but not someone who works in the industry.

Dec 15, 04 5:19 pm  · 
 ·