Archinect
anchor

Portfolio critique

hansdampf

I need your help please! I've seen that some people showed their portfolio here for people to critizise. I'd like to do that too, since I hardly ever get any responses to applications. It's in pdf format, can I upload it here somewhere?

Aug 23, 10 5:30 pm
Le Courvoisier

Issuu.com is best. It allows you to upload the pdf to show it off the way it would be if it were bound in a book.

Aug 23, 10 6:36 pm  · 
 · 
hansdampf

Thanks - I'll check it out

Aug 23, 10 10:10 pm  · 
 · 
hansdampf

Ok here it is... I'm a little nervous :)

Aug 23, 10 10:35 pm  · 
 · 
hansdampf

Oh, I should mention - it's for job applications and I just graduated.

Aug 23, 10 10:38 pm  · 
 · 
Sheeks

Hmmm i really like the layout of the civil/structural page, but i don't understand how you can transmit the shear of the steel roof due sismic/wind load to the foundation (i am an structural building engineer).
The other pages are so so and the first page need improvement.

For what kind of job are u doing this ??

Aug 23, 10 10:50 pm  · 
 · 
Le Courvoisier

I agree with all of Sheeks comments. Nothing completely grabs me, and the only project that I did more than a cursory glance at was the singing nest. The text intrigued me, but some of it didn't show in your images. You could easily make that two pages and move it to the front of the portfolio.

Aug 23, 10 11:02 pm  · 
 · 
hansdampf

There's no seismic risk in that area. For wind forces, a double T profile is welded to the bottom of the columns and encased in the foundation concrete. The whole construction is made of laminated timber, no steel except for the tension ties on top. I see that this needs more explanation - I just took it in for its look.

I was so proud of my layout, haha, but I know I'm comparatively helpless at graphic design. What exactly should I improve?

I'm applying for an entry-level architecture position.

Aug 23, 10 11:02 pm  · 
 · 
dmccarch