Archinect
anchor

Book Recommendation - Architecture Bible?

buzz2007

Hi,
I did my undergrad degree in Architecture several years ago. And I just finished my masters in city planning, and now in the process of starting the city planning PhD program. I have been out of touch with Architecture for so long, and I would like to warm up my memory on the basics of architecture.

Could you please recommend me the best bible/guide book on architecture?
Should I be reading a history book?

Thank you so much for your input!

Jul 21, 10 4:49 pm
DisplacedArchitect

The Artless word. its pretty advanced though not basic.

do you mean basics as in how to draft? how to think about drawings? or are you for other info?

bottom line is there is no one book that can give you a crash course oh architecture, although many will claim it.

maybe there is an architecture for dummies book out now?

Jul 21, 10 5:49 pm  · 
buzz2007

I am interested in more like theory. Like different building styles - their backgorund, how they all got evolved...etc....

Jul 21, 10 6:30 pm  · 
LOOP!

Frampton's "Modern Architecture: A Critical History" comes pretty close to being a bible of Modern Arch. history. It's dry, but I reread it last year and found it much more interesting than the first time I read it, probably because it was more like a review of everything I already knew. I know this is the obvious answer, but what would be more authoritative?

Profs. Vikram & Frank have a new "Global History of Architecture" book that's really good:

http://www.amazon.com/Global-History-Architecture-Francis-Ching/dp/0471268925

Jul 21, 10 6:38 pm  · 
1  ·  1
LOOP!

haha, there actually is an "Architecture for Dummies" book. Only has two stars on Amazon though.

Jul 21, 10 6:50 pm  · 
 · 
l3wis

if you're talking about structure and skin you should buy Farshid Moussavi's Function of Form and Function of Ornament.

Jul 22, 10 9:35 am  · 
Bruce Prescott