Archinect
anchor

Is minimum wage reasonable?

Znaika

I need some advice people!

I am a CC student transferring into a prestigious school next semester. I was offered summer internship (2.5 months) with pay of minimum wage (8.50/hr) at a firm that I have already interned at for class credit last semester. I have been mainly responsible for a lot of Sketch Up work, rendering, some drafting, working in InDesign, Photoshop and etc. Do you think that minimum wage is reasonable? I would like to mention that I do not possess B.Arch, or a B.A. in Arch or anything of the like. Like I said, I'm a transferring student going into something related to Arch.   

If its not, then what would be okay to ask for in this economy. 

May 8, 13 3:52 pm
G4tor

It is more than reasonable. Take it and don't look back.

There are tons of people with a lot more to offer who are offered a lot worse.

May 8, 13 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
Znaika

Thanks Jack Spelling, I was thinking the same thing. 

May 8, 13 5:08 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

It is certainly not generous. Have you made more than that previously?

May 8, 13 6:05 pm  · 
 · 
Rusty!

It's garbage. Minimum wage means if they could pay you less, they would. You are treated as unskilled labor. Have you tried asking for more? 

The economy has been heating up. Really crappy companies are due what's been coming to them for a long time now. 

May 8, 13 6:28 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

go flip burgers at McDonald's for minimum wage.. little stress, no headaches after you punch out each day

May 8, 13 8:04 pm  · 
 · 
Znaika

Since I do not have any other employment lined up for the summer, I think it's not bad. 

May 8, 13 9:24 pm  · 
 · 
Given