Archinect
anchor

Having a hard time finding a job.

nm_nm_nm

I graduated recently last year with a bachelors and have been looking for a job since October. I live in nyc so I assume the competition has been tough. Maybe my portfolio is just weak for a bachelors graduate? Or the fact that I only had 1 summer of internship experience? I wouldn't mind doing another internship to get more experience but it seems that most ads say they want someone who is currently in school. im not sure. I've been searching and applying to job ads on archinect/linkedin. specifically junior architect/architectural designer/designer jobs.

I have my portfolio linked below and welcome any tips and critique's on finding a job/improving my portfolio. 

https://drive.google.com/file/...

Jan 28, 24 11:36 am
watermelonsunday

don’t only apply to ads and job postings, just email apply to the firms you like the work of. have you tried networking with your professors from your bachelor’s? or try attending AIA events. competition is tough, it might be about who you know… 

Jan 28, 24 11:48 pm  · 
2  · 
nm_nm_nm

thank you for the advice! I will start doing that this week. I also am planning on attending some AIA events soon to meet people and network more. 

Jan 29, 24 1:48 am  · 
 · 
natematt

For reference, how many firms have you applied to up to this point? 

Jan 29, 24 3:27 am  · 
 · 
nm_nm_nm

About 64 applications. Starting from the end of October until now.

Jan 29, 24 4:18 am  · 
 · 

FYI, October through now is generally a weird time for applying for places. The current economic uncertainty hasn't helped, but it seems to be easing somewhat (based on the amount of inquiries I've had in the last couple of weeks).

Jan 29, 24 12:09 pm  · 
2  · 
natematt

Josh, very true.

Have you been getting any interviews? 

Jan 29, 24 12:42 pm  · 
 ·