Archinect
anchor

Graphic design after architecture degree?

roksraka

Hello!

I'm a 2nd year architecture student from Ljubljana, Slovenia. Although I like architecture, I'm starting to realize that I'm more and more interested in graphic design. Due to some weird rules of our educational system, I can't just go and study graphic design on another faculty (still part of the same university) without paying 3600 euros per year, which is obviously too much for my budget.

Since architects do have to care about presentation etc., one would think they aren't that bad with graphic design either. Could I possibly become a freelance graphic designer after I get my degree in architecture? What are my chances? How can I educate myself on budget?

Thanks for the help!

Jan 24, 15 8:37 pm
accesskb

you don't need to waste your time studying architecture to become a freelance graphic designer, althought it wouldn't hurt.  Heck.. If I was going to be a graphic designer, I'd just buy a few books and teach myself.  Everything is available, in the palm of your hands these days, unlike a decade or two ago.

Jan 24, 15 9:09 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

If I was going to be a graphic designer, I'd just buy a few books and teach myself. 

^I agree.  Unless there is some barrier to entry like a governmental license, I would go the teach-yourself route.  Cheaper, quicker.  Nobody ever died from bad graphics, so there is no must-learn body of knowledge that you must master in order to not endanger the public.  By all means skip architecture if you are not really that interested in it.

Jan 25, 15 11:02 am  · 
 · 
x-jla

my friend has a sucessful graphic design/web design business from home.  been doing it for 10 years and makes about 80-100k per year.  works about 30-40 hours a week.  not a bad life. and hes debt free because he taught himself. 

Jan 25, 15 11:41 am  · 
 · 
fulcrum

Boy, "know-all"-ism in this field is so rampant.