Archinect
anchor

Self taught?

switch

I have been thinking about the process of an education in architecture for quite some time now.

What are your thoughts on the 'self-taught' route? Every so often you come across someone who has no formal schooling, and often their work is extremely interesting. A lot of the greats from the past also had no formal 'architecture' schooling.

Putting licensing issues aside, do you think this is possible? Is it perhaps easier now with the internet, global travel, and so much documented history? Or perhaps the profession was simpler in the past and such an education would now be harder, or could no longer work?

Curious to hear if any you have any views on this. I am not really thinking of doing this myself - I'm currently doing pre-reqs for the traditional MArch route - but some of my friends and I have been having an interesting discussion about the possibilities, and I wanted to open it up to a larger audience.

Jul 16, 10 1:09 am
holz.box

i know a few autodidacts who are doing interesting things.

although i went the 'traditional route' i pretty much taught myself the things i was interested in. and still do. learning doesn't stop at graduation.

Jul 16, 10 1:23 am  · 
1  · 
Paradox

I like learning by myself,at my own pace.I say go for it, it is possible. Traveling is a great way to learn and open your mind.You don't have to be in an educational institution to learn.

Jul 16, 10 2:04 am  · 
 · 
Distant Unicorn
I am a very bad example.
Jul 16, 10 2:07 am  · 
 · 
Allahtect

your education does not begin in schol and does not end after school but people with graduate degrees will always think they are better than you and get better jobs and make more money. they will not hire you when they are in position to hire people becuase they value education similar to theirs. go ahead and teach yourself so the grads can say go screw yourself.

Jul 16, 10 11:16 am  · 
 · 
nonneutral