Archinect
anchor

User / Business requirements for Architect website

venkman

Hi there,

I'm a graphic designer and have been musing on websites for architectural firms. I'd be interested in your input on the following very general questions:

1. Do architectural firm's websites have any real part to play in the process of hiring an architect / how could they do more?

2. What do clients need to get form an architect's site?

3. Really, what do most architects want from their site - and what should they really be doing. 

4. Do architectural firms consider their website to be selling a product, a style, a process – or are the sites simply a visual back-catalogue of completed work? What would be / is most beneficial?

What are your thoughts?! 

I have my own ideas on this, mostly along the lines that there's a general apathy in terms of user interaction, explanation of process, exemplifying huisstijl throughout the site,  and maybe even sales.

The sales part is one area where I'm not sure about the way in which the industry usually works. I'm guessing architectural firms are approached by people who like the portfolio and have a site and a budget in mind. Would the firm benefit from guiding/moderating this kind of initial interaction?

Cheers!

May 2, 14 3:42 pm
SpatialSojourner

1. Yes, and other online sources like Houzz

2. Pretty pictures of projects to fantasize about their building. 

3. Some want their website design to be what they think is avant garde, but they should really be thinking about usability.  (See DSR)

4. I don't think that it's thought of as a product... but I don't think it's necessarily a back catalog either.  It's like a digital portfolio, but each firm is different, The websites may differ based on target clients.  Your a designer as well, what is the purpose of your website?