Archinect
anchor

Intern, Junior Designer, Architectural Assistant, Entry Level... which one is the correct "title"?

Bets

What is the appropriate job title if you're a graduate of an architecture program? In my case, I have a Bachelors and I haven't done a (professional) M. Arch yet. When I was in college, I worked at different offices and was considered either an intern/ architectural assistant. What do I call myself now? Does it matter? When looking for jobs in between undergrad and masters, does one look for "internships" or "full time employment"?

May 23, 10 6:19 am
Paradox

Your title doesn't really matter I think but as far as I know you have to have about 2-3 years of experience to apply to Junior Designer/Junior Architect positions.

May 23, 10 6:52 am  · 
 · 
DisplacedArchitect

examining your questions.

-The most accurate title we can use until we are licensed is either Architect Intern or Intern Architect.

Though within a company they will give you an official company title like you said architects assistant, or some variation of that.

Does it matter?
It matters, to the bureaucrats, and lawyers waiting to sue us for any reason.

When looking for jobs ... undergrad and masters?

do you have a 4 year degree? because a 5 year degree is a professional degree considered equivalent to a masters.

the answer is when you look for a job you will find a lot more positions available to interns for summer time, which can be something good for someone with a 4 year bachelors degree, If you have a 5 year professional degree or a masters i advise you go get a full time job asap.

NCARB does provide a path to licensure for people with a 4 year degree too.

good luck bets

May 23, 10 4:58 pm  · 
 · 
2step

Fluffer

May 23, 10 7:38 pm  · 
 · 
Bets

Thanks guys.