Archinect
anchor

listing religion related jobs in resume?

iamjena

Hi, I need some advice about resumes...

I graduated in '08 from berkeley with a BA in Architecture (non-professional).. I spent a year in "East Asia" as an intern with Campus Crusade for Christ International. I've been looking for an architecture-related position since returning to the States in September with, you guessed it, no luck.

I'm a little concerned that my affiliation with a mission-minded Christian non-profit, may turn potential employers off to my resume. While I do not wish to hide my particular beliefs or experiences, I do want to be sensitive to the fact that everyone does not share my faith.

I have worded the job description as such:

"Campus Crusade for Christ International East Asia August 2008 - August 2009
International Intern
Lived abroad for one year to help build up leaders and movements on 17 different college campuses. Worked on a bilingual, multi-cultural team to reach and mentor college students."

In my cover letter, I usually expand upon my team-work experience, and the fact that I raised the monetary funds for the full year prior to leaving.

any thoughts or suggestions?

May 19, 10 7:06 pm

i don't think the problem is your resume, just the economy.

you were working as missionary as main job or was it folded into teaching english and other things? if the latter, if you really feel like modifying things perhaps you could highlight the non-proselytizing part of your trip...

May 19, 10 7:20 pm  · 
 · 
iamjena

It was my main job, but I was also a full-time language student, so I am able to list my language ability as well. thanks for your reply.

May 19, 10 7:26 pm  · 
 · 
druf