Archinect
anchor

Negotiating Salary expectation

archrival

Hi
I am going on my second interview (same firm) this week, and I believe there is a chance I might get hired. I am a recent graduate
(B.Arch) from a well known arch university in Los Angeles. I am confident in my skills and I would rank myself around the top 10 from a class of 50 (not to sound pretentious) all I want to say is that I feel somewhat prepared to take on tasks and not be clueless about what I have to do. I have had past summer internship experience but this time is for junior architect position.
I believe that they (arch firm) expect to let them know about my salary expectations which I am not sure if it is correct to be based on what I would expect when times were good. I mean I know I should lower my salary expectations due to this economic downturn but Im not sure what is the norm right now.
As a recent graduate, in LA should I be around the 20-25$/hr range? or should I lower a little below 20$/hr?
I mean the office is quite small 10-15 people and does residential and commercial design. which means Ill be getting experience and responsability.
I believe that if times were good like before then sure...23-26$/hr is what I would be asking as starting salary but nowadays reading that people are still getting laid off, lowered salaries, fewer hours, un-paid overtime and benefits taken away, what should I expect in order to find a job in architecture.
Whats would you consider to be the beginning salary range in the current recession in LA?
please dont tell me about the "salary poll" cause it is very vague and not helpful.

Thanks

May 4, 10 4:24 am

very good question... I think a good trick in negotiating salary is to try and get them to name a number first. If they ask you "How muh do you want to be paid?" you can say something like...