Archinect
anchor

if i do Teach for America, how difficult will it be to get a job later as an architect in two years

lost boy

Greetings yall,

I graduated with a M Arch degree last year from SCI-arc. I have had trouble landing a full-time intern job post-graduation. I applied for Teach for America and got it. Teaching has always been something I have aspired to do and I fully believe in TFA's mission. But I am still a little concerned about taking a two year hiatus from architecture, especially since I just gradated in September 09 and have only a few summer internships to account for my entire professional experience.

the deadline is this Thursday, so any thoughts you may have would be GREATLY appreciated....Thanks!

Apr 27, 10 12:34 pm
c.k.

what will you be teaching?
I say take it and find ways to stay involved in architecture on the side.
I think this kind of experience is really great, I wished I would qualify for this program.

Apr 27, 10 1:11 pm  · 
 · 
paranoid

Do it x100. Seriously, don't hesitate, don't look back. 2 years in your career is nothing, and it absolutely will not hold you back from getting an architecture job. In my opinion, it should help. Good luck and congratulations, TfA is an outstanding opportunity.

Apr 27, 10 1:13 pm  · 
 · 
outed