Archinect
anchor

Pratt vs UNC Charlotte

nina_naj

I just received an email from UNC Charlotte that may be a game changer. I had narrowed down my options to UCDenver (I don't want to leave the mountains) and Pratt (received a $15,000 renewable yearly scholarship). UNC Charlotte just offered me a full ride and a research assistantship with an $8,000 stipend. I crossed UNCC off my list because I'm not sure where I will end up (won't be Charlotte) and I feel like the program lacks a strong reputation on a  national scale. I would have in-state tuition at UCDenver and a scholarship at Pratt but am I insane to pass up a completely free Masters program??? I have to decide soon and I'm incredibly confused.

Apr 10, 14 7:17 pm
Talia0974
Hey Nina. I'm a grad arch student at Pratt. Have any questions you'd like to ask?
Apr 10, 14 9:13 pm  · 
 · 
Talia0974
Hey Nina. I'm a grad arch student at Pratt. Have any questions you'd like to ask?
Apr 10, 14 9:16 pm  · 
 · 
I went to Pratt; got two degrees. I would say it was worth it(at times). And I didn't get any where near and 15k scholarship. They must really like you. What that said. Weigh your options. How much student debt to you have from undergrad? Are you comfortable with making that kind of investment? A free ride is amazing but it greatly depends on the program and it's reputation to teach you the must cutting edge design or are you looking for professional practice kind of a school. Also keep in mind living expenses in the Pratt area will run you about 1200-1500 a month for rent alone, even with a roommate you still looking to pay about $800. New York is expensive. But the experience is like no other and if you stay you can form a wide network of scholars and professionals. Hope this was helpful
Apr 11, 14 7:03 am  · 
 · 
nina_naj