Archinect
anchor

job offer with 1 week trial period?

eswdes

I have 2 years of post-graduate experience and got a job offer at a 5 people office.

Principal, his partner, principal's wife, and 2 other people.

The interview was great but the offer came with 1 week trial period.  Is this normal at small

offices?

Apr 4, 14 12:30 am
LITS4FormZ
90 days probation is standard in just about every company big or small. One week is odd.

Small offices have to make sure the group dynamic works...or maybe they want to see what/how much you can produce. Aka how you will effect the bottom line.
Apr 4, 14 12:53 am  · 
 · 
Bench

One week does seem like an odd period. Are they asking for that first week to be unpaid?

Apr 4, 14 2:54 am  · 
 · 
gwharton

I think we're going to see a lot more of this kind of thing. "Audition" is a big new concept in hiring practices.

Apr 4, 14 12:49 pm  · 
 · 
J_AFlores

I recently was offer an unpaid internship (3 months) and the "we will see if we got potential projects for us to offer you a job once the internship is over". Maybe is the new tendency, who knows; I would love to accept the offer but I got to pay gas, food, rent, etc life of arch students after college.

Apr 4, 14 3:58 pm  · 
 · 
3tk

It is very common - you should, however, be compensated for your time (either a lump sum or an hourly wage - don't expect much).

Apr 4, 14 4:07 pm  · 
 · 
Bench

^ ^ Exactly. Sorry, my earlier post may be misread from what I meant. Are they asking you to work for "free" for the 1 week? That is NOT alright; they're probably trying to get some cheap drafting. Working for the 1 week at a reduced wage to see if you are a good fit, with the expectation that you will make a standard wage after if it turns out you are indeed a good fit? More common.

Apr 4, 14 4:14 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname