Archinect
anchor

mid-sized vs large firm for IDP?

magentasky

Hello,

I'm currently finishing up my fourth year at a BArch program. I have held one internship at a mid-sized firm about a year ago, but I have not had any other relevant jobs/internships since then. I have finally decided to bounce back and apply for jobs again. Only this time I have some work experience on my resume, and I am specifically looking to start my IDP training.

Since I've only had one experience with one mid-sized firm, I'm at a loss as to which firms to apply to. Should I stick with mid-sized or should I go for some of the bigger firms?
I'm looking to start my IDP training in a long-term position that will hopefully lead to full-time employment upon graduation. After getting laid-off at the previous mid-sized firm, I'm not so secure about working at the smaller firms; however how do the different sized firms compare in terms of IDP training?

Also, I know a good amount of people who have previously worked at a specific large firm; although that's good for getting referrals, it makes me wonder if the large firms are just one of those places where you work for a couple of years just to get the experience (and maybe the name) on your resume?
please advise, as I would love to hear about your experiences.

Mar 26, 10 2:40 am
ObiWanKenobi

If you want to get your IDP done faster, Generally the smaller the firm, the more exposure opportunity you will get in order to knock out all the different categories of experience.

Generally, the larger the firm, the morelikely you are to get "pigeon-holed" so it can take much, much longer than the minimum amount of time to complete all the requirements.

I have found this to very, very generally be the case, but not necessarily.