Archinect
anchor

Another China thread

ATSX

Hi,

I know there are a lot of threads concerning working in China already.
But now that I've been offered a job there myself(which i am seriously considering), it has become personal..

I am a recent graduate with less than 1 year of exp.
I was recently offered a job from a major international firm in Beijing with a monthly salary of 19000rmb(gross). They told me I would be paying my taxes in HK so it would be much lower than paying Chinese taxes. Would there be any legal issues with this though? So far it seems there would not be any other benefits. Although I am not 100% sure.

I was also offered a salary of 18000rmb(net) from a beijing based starchitect office last year, also w/o any benefits what so ever.(Which I eventually turned down)

I just wanted to know what are things I should ask for/secure beforehand as a foreigner in China? Is the above mentioned amount a reasonable number? Those of you working in China, what kind of benefits do you receive there?
Also, I heard for expats, medical insurance becomes a hot issue, where it could be very expensive. How are foreigners going about this?

Any insight would be very welcomed.

Mar 8, 10 11:23 am

I'm curious to hear responses to this.

Mar 8, 10 12:56 pm  · 
 · 
Urbanist

ATXS,

You want to check with an accountant just to make sure that it is alright for them to pay you the salary out of their HK office, but I think it is, and there is another reason for it: if anything goes wrong both you and the firm would be better protected in HK, since the legal and arbitration process there is much more accessible and transparent than the one in China. So, yes, definitely get paid in HK if you can, but make sure the tax thing works (which means talking with an accountant).