Archinect
anchor

Academic Grades and Career

space_a

I am a current MArch student and am wondering if employers at architectural firms ever ask for academic transcripts? How crucial are university grades to future careers? Please feel free to share your experience. Thanks.

Feb 28, 10 12:42 am

not important to job directly unless intending to pursue things further in academia.

indirectly, the awards and so on that come from the same work that leads to good grades can be significant. in that sense yes grades matter.

Feb 28, 10 3:09 am  · 
 · 
iheartbooks

I have never heard of grades being a determining factor in being hired.

A friend of mine who had a miserable thesis was hired right out of school to do renderings for some of the best firms in the city.

Like they say: C's get degrees.

Feb 28, 10 8:42 am  · 
 · 
poop876

thats why hes doing renderings!!

Mar 1, 10 10:17 am  · 
 · 

grades only impact the references you get if you ask one of your profs. If you are applying to be an educator, some schools like getting transcripts with your CV.

Mar 1, 10 11:00 am  · 
 · 
On the fence

Maybe emplyoers understand what was or was not taught in school. Therefor, why should they care.

Mar 1, 10 3:27 pm  · 
 · 
bRink

Employers care about grades because frankly, every school may be different and who is to say what the difference between a C and a B is in different schools and with different professors...?