Archinect
anchor

MAC or PC?

JWDesigner

I am ready to upgrade and purchase a computer for my designing but I am unsure of which way to go! PC or MAC? I am under the impression that there is a huge turn in the design profession towards MAC's but PC's have better machine capabilities for less money. What is better and what are YOU designers/architects using for personal and business work? I look forward to your suggestions!

Feb 10, 10 2:25 pm
rethinkit

If you do mostly Autocad, Revit and other 3D, then a PC as in HP is the best bang for the buck. If on the other hand, you also do a lot of image processing - Photoshop, Web design, illustrator, then and only if you can afford it, then go with MAC. It's like the difference between a Chevy Malibu and a 3 series - you get what you pay for.

Feb 10, 10 4:45 pm  · 
 · 
JWDesigner

@ Rethink..thanks for the post. I am an interior architect that completes work in Autocad, Sketchup and I also use Photoshop and Illustrator as well. I would like to add programs like Rhino and 3Dmax to my computer. With that said is a MAC a better purchase? I want something that will be able to grow with me instead of becoming more of a burden over time.

What are you using to complete work in your profession? Do you think the design field is going MAC crazy?

Feb 10, 10 11:41 pm  · 
 · 

mac no questions. i purchased my first MBP in july and it has seriously changed my life. in terms of running CAD, i run it using bootcamp which is better then using a parallel program (running dual operating systems at the same time).