Archinect
anchor

The get out of jail free card...Is that real?

bsitds

My sob story: I graduated cum laude in May of '08 from a top 5 ranked architecture + design school. I went straight to work in NY for the same company I interned with doing mostly high end retail and corporate work. I survived several rounds of layoffs until I was the only one left under my boss (an associate at the firm) and had taken on all of the work of everyone around me with more experience that had been given the boot. In March I became the only surviving employee under the age of 30 as the firm had roughly gone from 80 people to 20 with 10+ being associates (top heavy pyramid anyone?). I was finally let go at the end of May and have been jobless ever since.

My question: I understand completely that it's a tough economy and loads of architects and designers are in similar situations. Now 6+ months unemployed, if I dont find work soon will my high ratio of unemployment to working time seriously hurt my chances of ever finding a job? I can go on and on in interviews about my experience designing, spec-ing, doing complete cd's, working with clients, working with contractors (I wasn't sarcastic about taking on everyone else's work), becoming LEED accredited, etc. but will it become almost impossible to even get that interview when my cv says I worked may 2008 - may 2009? Or do you think everyone almost gets a free pass for their employment history post sept 2008?

Dec 30, 09 4:52 am
brian buchalski

why would everyone get a "free pass" when, in fact, there are still many people working?

more likely, it won't even be relevant because by the time the profession starts hiring again everybody will have found something else to do.

Dec 30, 09 7:43 am  · 
 ·