Archinect
anchor

Should I ask for a raise???

soleil27

I have been working at my current firm for the past two years fresh out of school, every year we are given a 3-4% raise. I started out making in the high 40s and now I am in the low 50s. The firm in general is doing pretty well, we have a few major jobs in the office and smaller stuff also. I want to increase my pay to the low 60s. I am considered as an Architectural Designer I/Junior Architect (I am not sure of my direct title), but for the past 9 months I have been doing the work of an Architectural Designer II. Also, from talking to a past employee who worked with me on a number of projects, and was hired around the same time I was (but she has a masters), she was making 7000 more then me (so while I started in the high 40s she was started around the mid 50s). Throughout the course of her employment she was doing less challenging work then me, checking the title sheets, numbering sheets, bathroom elevations (that I had set up), and in some of the teams that we worked together I would provide her with direction on what to do. I should mention that she left to pursue another career. However, for the past few months, I have been doing the work of someone higher level then me (Architectural Designer II), who was layed off, and I have been told numerous times by the people who head the projects that I took over what a great job I am doing, and that I am very thorough. I realize the reason the firm was able to lay this person off was that they realized I could do her work for less money then they were paying her, (she was making around 59k). Is this a bad time to ask for a raise? What is the best way to approach this to my boss? Should I wait for a review?

Dec 27, 09 10:56 am