Archinect
anchor

After a Pre-professional degree, best option for making the most money

w4000

I have a pre-prof. architecture degree. I am looking into an M.Arch \ mba maybe a M. Urban Planning / MBA... I am open to other options. I am just trying to get a feel what what is the most lucurative atm... suggestions?

Nov 24, 09 4:56 pm
gresham

JD

Nov 24, 09 5:05 pm  · 
 · 
Paradox

I want to switch to Industrial Design..You can also consider graphic design if you're more on the artistic side.I have a pre-prof degree also,I mean I'll have one next month and I'm not going to go to a graduate school for architecture, NEVER ever never!!! But if I had the chance(and the financial means) to go to a graduate school I'd definitely choose business/marketing. It would be very useful if you're thinking of operating your own business someday.I'm thinking you can never go wrong with a business/marketing degree. All else you can learn it by practicing.

Nov 24, 09 6:00 pm  · 
 · 
chicagoarchitect

Sales rep for pharmaceutical company, or medical appliance manufacturer. Short of going to a top-notch law or business school and incurring significant student loan debt, this is the certain route to a renumerative career after a four-year bachelor degree at a big-ten school. Cheerleaders and frat brothers are encouraged to apply, due to their outgoing nature and strong social skills. No kidding.

I'm still mulling over the Chicago Magazine article on unemployed architects here.

Nov 24, 09 7:28 pm  · 
 · 
zen maker

I was thinking about Industrial Design too, because this is the field of inventions, and if you invent something good, you get to collect royalties for life or sell patents to large companies for $millions!

Nov 24, 09 7:38 pm  · 
 · 
Milwaukee08

Why, how bad is it in Chicago?

I'm supposed to graduate in 4 weeks with a bachelors and I'm scared.

Right now it seems working at Pier One or Crate and Barrel are your most lucrative options.

Nov 24, 09 7:42 pm  · 
 ·