Archinect
anchor

Basket ball court under the garage

myDownfall1

Not sure if this an appropriate question for this forum but I figured I would try. I'm actually an Engineer and not an architect so I'm looking for some unbiased and modern opinion. Here goes....

So I have been planning a new house to build and I've decided I want to have an indoor basketball court. I figured the options would be, basement level court the included the same are on the first floor for the high ceiling, having a portion of the basement extra deep with stairs from the basement that go down another level, or finally my favorite.... a double deep basement under the garage (quietest scenario). Since I don't deal with these types of things in my profession as an engineer I figured I would join an architecture forum in order to learn as much as I could.

I hope to hear from many of you with opinions on the most cost effective way to achieve my goals. Thanks!!

Derek

Feb 11, 14 10:37 am
Non Sequitur

I trust you're not much of a structural P.eng because supporting a garage full of cars above a (I assume) column free basketball court is not an easy thing. There is a reason people put these in their own hanger-style auxiliary buildings.

You will need to hire someone to look at this, there are alot more at stake then you are aware of. I would be interested to know where in the civilized world can a residential house have a multi-level basement... I smell one helluva egress problem, not to mention soil or ground-water issues.

Feb 11, 14 10:48 am  · 
 · 
x-jla

I would do a seperate ground level building with some way to open court to outside.   Probably cheaper and nicer in the end.  I would assume you have a good size site?  If height is the issue you can also opt to do a half submerged court with celestory windows and a stair well entry.  The roof line can appear flush with house or garage.  

Feb 11, 14 11:33 am  · 
 · 
x-jla