Archinect
anchor

bye architecture, hello nursing

useasback

As a lot of people here, I had a love-hate relationship with architecture. I love the creative side of architectural design, but hate the typical CAD monkey desk life, office politics, and poor job outlooks. I graduated in 2006 before the full onset of depression and landed a job in a big-name architectural firm and worked there for three years. In those years, i did concept design, presentations and presentations. Despite repetitive request for experiences in other aspects, I learned nothing regarding to how buildings are put together. I felt that both of my career as a young architect and my learning in architecture hit a glass ceiling and I was stuck there for a long time. Looking back now, I realized how unhappy and miserable I was. 

When I lost my job in 2009, I decided to get a certificate in nursing. I made the same amount of salary with one year training in nursing as what I made with five year B. Arch plus two year degree of M.Arch. More importantly, I love my job as a nurse. It is fast paced, non-boring, and has a scale that is manageable for me. Nursing offers greater opportunities for advancement and requires critical thinking skills which fit into my ambition. Nursing also gives me a chance to care for the vulnerable and hopefully I made a difference in someone's life and they will remember how I make them feel when they are sick. I work three 12 hour shifts and off four of the seven days of the week. Drawbacks? I have to work every other weekend and every other holidays, the job can be stressful sometimes.

As of today, I worked in my hospital for 25 months already. I am truly thankful that I lost my job four years ago because I would not have the courage to leave architecture and do something I will truly enjoy for the rest of my life.

Best luck for all.

Feb 8, 14 4:31 pm
Punch84