Archinect
anchor

Job Offer: Worth it?

SaloDaniel

I graduated this past may from my B.Arch and found an Non-Paid Internship after searching for a job without luck.

Im probably the first one of my graduating class to receive a Job Offer after 3 months of interning without paid.

This is a Small firm in Southern California (15 people) and it is a Production firm, so we dont get to see much design. The good part about it is the exposure I will get to the politics behind the field. A lot of connections, good networking and exposure to getting experience at the building department.

The job offer is not the best but i think is not bad for the times we are in.
It is a $36K a year with health benefits and possible bonuses every 6 months.

What do you think, given the situation and being my first full time job, with a couple years of part time experience while in school?

i hope to get some honest comments and be honest, i promise not to cry...

Oct 10, 09 5:10 pm
liberty bell

Jump on it, for all the reasons you listed. Learn and learn and learn and then when you've learned all you can, move on. Good luck!

Oct 10, 09 5:15 pm  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?

if you don't take it i will ..

Oct 10, 09 5:30 pm  · 
 · 
BlueGoose

The best way to position yourself for your 2nd job is to have a 1st job on which to build. In this economy, any job inside the profession is preferable to not having any job or flipping burgers.

Unless you have something better to do with your time, you'd probably be making a big mistake if you did not take this position. It's not forever and it will help prepare you for something better once the economy improves.

Oct 10, 09 6:51 pm  · 
 · 

its a job and at this point that is all that anyone can really ask for... i spent some time at a production focused firm and you will learn a lot about actually putting buildings together that you wouldn't necessarily learn at a hotshit design firm.

Oct 10, 09 6:52 pm  · 
 · 
SaloDaniel