Archinect
anchor

dead end job....

ElTomas

I am a recent graduate (undergrad) ... Started my first job in the "real" world and hate it. My question is, im about to finish my second week and want to quit, what is the best way to go about doing this?

Oct 20, 04 5:29 pm
TED

well its not a real job unless you give it at least 3 weeks. 2 weeks isnt really a serious effort.

why not try a fresh cup of hot java on the principals lap?

Oct 20, 04 5:57 pm  · 
 · 
R.A. Rudolph

Just ask to speak to either a principal you've had contact with, your project manager if it seems appropriate or the person who hired you. Explain that it isn't working out for you and you are sorry to inconvenience them but need to look elsewhere. Depending on the atmosphere, you might want to explain some of your issues, or on the opposite end write a short but sweet "letter of resignation" (you can find many on the internet) and hand it to them.
But before you do that I'd seriously think about the options - why do you hate it? Is there any way to keep working and talk about it with your co-workers and see if you can cgange things over time? How long will it take you to find another job and do you need one? Transitioning to the working world is always hard, and if you're just going to quit and get another job you hate it's not going to help you. On the other hand if it's because the boos is crazy or they expect you to work 100 hours a week or something, just tell them it isn't working out and leave.

Oct 20, 04 5:58 pm  · 
 · 
Devil Dog

I guess i need more information.

Do you hate the specific place you are working? Or do you hate the profession in general meaning you want to change professions?

Oct 20, 04 7:53 pm  · 
 · 
enzo76

I remember the transition being really tough as well. In school you're asked to work independently, develop ideas and present them. Suddenly, in the office you need to be a productive team member, do the grunt work and nobody is particularly interested in your ideas.