Archinect
anchor

Unrelated architecture job...do you put it on the resume?

odee

So I graduated in May with my M.Arch and have since been looking for architecture positions. However, as most of the threads on this board indicate, these jobs are tough to come by. So, since I can't sustain living without making money, I've been working on boats (sailing is another passion of mine).

The question: Do I put this experience on the resume to show that I've not just been sitting around waiting for the perfect job? Or do firms not care that I've been working as a marine technician as it isn't directly relevant to the jobs I'm pursuing? Thanks.

Aug 31, 09 10:53 pm
cadcroupier

I can't see it hurting you...so why not.
Who knows it may actually help you connect to an employer that shares your interest.

beleive it or not, architects sometimes like to talk about stuff other than architecture :p

Sep 1, 09 1:32 am  · 
 · 
binary

you might be better off as a marine tech for the next year or two.

Sep 1, 09 1:35 am  · 
 · 
cadcroupier

or 10

Sep 1, 09 1:47 am  · 
 · 
jplourde

One firm I interviewed at wanted to know what I did the summer of freshman year in BArch. When I told them I worked at Home Depot for that summer, they said that the fact that I knew the difference between a phillips head and flat head was not insignificant.

I think most firms worth their salt want to see a well-rounded person, not just a cad monkey. So including 'I build boats.' on a cv is probably beneficial.

Sep 1, 09 6:26 am  · 
 · 
won and done williams

you may be able to help them land a job with a kennedy. it is the new it hobby.

Sep 1, 09 8:43 am  · 
 · 
med.

Absolutely put that in! If nothing else, it's a great talking point! Architects love to pretend that they know stuff about boats and sailing.

And they know that people can't just wait around for the recession to end to find a job -- people have to move on and eke out a living somwehow.

Sep 1, 09 8:59 am  · 
 · 
toasteroven