Archinect
anchor

Architecture Employment Agencies?

genassembly

As everyone who is reading this probably knows, the job market is empty right now. I'm not making ends meet financially and it seems to only be getting worse. I am realizing that I am going to have to go back to an office full time. (I've been consulting and freelancing for a couple of years)

My question to the general public is, does anyone know of any employment agencies that specialize in Architecture in the NYC area? Archinect and the other usual suspects for job searching is usually great, but in this kind of economy it would be good to have an agency with some connections to firms on my side looking for work...

Aug 18, 09 2:43 pm
plugnpla

They don't seem to be any help right now.

Aug 18, 09 4:15 pm  · 
 · 
toasteroven

consulting for architects (cons4arch.com) - although they are a little more helpful for someone at the management level.

Aug 18, 09 6:49 pm  · 
 · 
genassembly

Thanks. I've used consulting for archs before. They don't have a lot of work right now either.

That is the kind of thing I am looking for though. Anyone know any other places like that?

Aug 18, 09 6:53 pm  · 
 · 
-jay

What Redo said.

I dont know about NYC, but in Chicago they are pretty useless. Most firms are getting more then enough unsolicited resumes and dont need to pay a company to find them potential employees. Also, I have a few friends who went through employment agencies before the market went south, and they didnt have the best experiences. In general, even the full-time salaried people got paid considerably less and had less benefits then the people who were hired directly by the company, and were the first people laid-off and not usually eligible for unemployment. The contract jobs can be kinda iffy too if they restrict you from working for anybody else (or even looking for other work) while you are under contract, especially if they cant promise you a full 40 hours, or definite contract duration.