Archinect
anchor

Fresh grad looks for job in US

laistm

Okay.here's the deal. I'm an fresh grad architect, doing my masters in Industrial Design from School of Planning and Architecture in India and looking at the possibilities of a job in the US.

I want to know how to go about it and what to expect. Moneywise and otherwise. What should i be doing?

I have no experience as such apart from a couple of interior projects i've woked on and a lot of computer visualizations.

Jul 24, 09 8:58 am
poop876

laistm,
I can't speak for the rest of the country but here in Chicago the situation is pretty bad. I know hundreds of experienced licensed and unlicensed architects that are out of work. Big and small firms have laid off hundreds of people and most of them are still looking with no luck. I was laid off couple of weeks ago, but I know plenty of people from SOM that have been laid off in November and still no work for them and they are looking.

There are plenty of cases where people moved from Chicago, single or with families to different cities in Texas or NY to try to find work. Some of them have been successful but some of them had to just find ANY job to support families. I've had about 7 of my best friends leave the city and move, hoping they can start somewhere else, because they've been trying here for months and some for a year now. One person was lucky to find work, but he just got laid off the other day in Montana. I mean he moved to Montana from Chicago to find work, that should tell you how bad things are.