Archinect
anchor

Studying Architecture after 40

PipoNYC

I'm 42 years old and will be studying calculus and physics this coming fall in order to apply to architecture schools when I will be 43. I'm interested in reading about the experiences of older students or of younger students with older classmates. I wonder about how I will fit in with all of those young whippersnappers-he he he, (although I've been told I appear much younger than 42, whatever that means). I must confess I'm a little worried about competing in the marketplace since I will be about 47 when I graduate.

Jul 3, 09 7:10 pm
citizen

Carlos,

You'll get a raft of opinions and answers to your question. Here's mine.

I studied architecture as a pup and got my license fairly early, but decided to get a master's and doctorate later on. I finished my PhD at 46. For me, this was exactly the right move. It might not be for others.

In my opinion, your question is more about following your dream than about architecture in particular. You sound certain about this, which suggests to me that you're already decided and just looking for reinforcement, rather than seeking help to make the basic decision.

Of course, marketplace realities do affect job prospects, and, in your case, my hunch is that the profession will be well past the current downturn and on the upswing by the time you're done. Your strength on graduation --what will set you apart from the whippersnappers-- is your life experience and maturity, along with whatever other professional/ business skills or knowledge you bring. What have you been doing until now? Figure how to market that as complementary to your architectural training, and you'll be more competitive.

Jul 3, 09 7:27 pm  · 
1  · 
PipoNYC

Thanks Citizen. I appreciate your insights and suggestions. I've been an assistant teacher for about 21 years but I'm uncertain as to how that would make a difference.

Jul 3, 09 7:32 pm  · 
 · 
mantaray